Hannover Messe 2019 Fraunhofer President appointed new Chairman of Hermes Award Jury

Editor: Theresa Knell

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Reimund Neugebauer is the new Chairman of the Hermes Award jury and in his new function will promote the future of the world's most important technology award. The Hermes Award is presented annually at Hannover Messe to honor a product or a technical solution that is particularly innovative.

Related Vendor

Hermes Award
Hermes Award
(Source: Deutsche Messe)

All companies and institutions that are exhibiting at Hannover Messe or participate in any other way could apply, announced Deutsche Messe, the organizer of the trade fair. The criteria of technological innovation, industrial, environmental and social benefits, economic viability and readiness for implementation play a prominent role in the assessment of the contributions. The closing date for applications was on February 6, 2019.

An independent jury chaired by Professor Dr.-Ing. Reimund Neugebauer, President of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft will choose the winners. “The Hermes Award is an institution in the German research and development landscape. I consider it a special honor to chair the jury of this renowned industry award," says Fraunhofer President Neugebauer. “Together with German and international technology experts, we would like to promote this important award, venture outside the box in search of forward-looking innovations and sharpen our focus on target-group-oriented product solutions.”

For the first time only three submissions are nominated

For the first time, only three contributions will be nominated for the Hermes Award. The winner will be chosen from these top three nominations. All Hermes Award nominations will be presented on March 31 at the opening ceremony of the Hannover Messe 2019 and during the fair from April 1 to 5 in the Research & Technology area in Hall 2.

Professor Neugebauer has taken over the chairmanship of the Hermes Award Jury from Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Wahlster, Director and Chairman of the Executive Board of the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI), who played a key role in the concept of the Hermes Award and has been contributing to it for 15 years: "After 15 years as chairman of the jury, I am happy that a promising successor has been found with the Fraunhofer Gesellschaft. I sincerely wish the new jury continued instinct for outstanding innovations and the Hermes Award the international reputation it deserves as the Oscar of Engineers," says Professor Wahlster.

Hermes Award represents Germany's innovative strength

"The renowned Hermes Award represents Germany's competitiveness and innovative strength. It focuses on the development of new ideas and putting them into marketable products. I am delighted that Reimund Neugebauer is taking over the chairmanship of the Hermes Award Jury. As President of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft, he has an experienced eye for application-oriented research and transfer. At the same time I would like to thank Wolfgang Wahlster very much for his work during the last 15 years as chairman of the jury. He has made a significant contribution to making the award what it is today," said Federal Research Minister Anja Karliczek.

The Hermes Award is organized under the patronage of the Federal Minister of Education and Research, Anja Karliczek, and the Prime Minister of Lower Saxony, Stephan Weil.

For more news visit our facebook page or twitter.

This article was first published on our partner portal MM MaschinenMarkt.

Subscribe to the newsletter now

Don't Miss out on Our Best Content

By clicking on „Subscribe to Newsletter“ I agree to the processing and use of my data according to the consent form (please expand for details) and accept the Terms of Use. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.

Unfold for details of your consent