Dubai: The World Steel Association announced nominees for “Steelie”

Page: 2/2

The excellence in sustainability award recognizes a company or an association for a specific sustainability initiative that has made a positive impact, or provided benefits the three areas of sustainability: economic, environmental and social performance. Additional criteria include the level of community/stakeholder communication & outreach related to the initiative. Nominated are ArcelorMittal (extending the lifecycle of steel sheet piles in a circular economy), Hesteel Group Co., Ltd. (urban recycled water as the only water source in iron and steel production) and Ternium (development of a sustainable industrial centre in Pesquería, Mexico).

The award for excellence in life cycle assessment rewards companies for playing a key role in establishing and guiding the work of worldsteel in LCA, for demonstrating commitment to the ethical and pro-active use of LCA, or shaping the debate in the public and policy-making arenas. Member nominations in the form of a detailed questionnaire are called for by worldsteel. Nominees in this category are Erdemir Group for the use of LCA to develop the greenhouse gas emissions monitoring system in Turkey, Posco for using LCA with customers to identify the environmental and business benefits of their advanced product portfolio in Korea, Thyssenkrupp Steel Europe for the implementation of LCA to assess the potential environmental performance and recyclability in their product development process, and Tata Steel India for the use of LCA to demonstrate the environmental benefits of having a high resource efficiency mining process.

This award recognises member companies for their contributions to worldsteel's education and training programme and leadership in enhancing the skills of the steel workforce for today and tomorrow. The companies on the shortlist are ArcelorMittal ('Safety Training Programme' including safety leadership training and take care programme), Nucor Corporation (leadership in financial management training), Tata Steel Europe ('Graduate Development' programme), Tenaris (‘Development Maintenance Programme’) and Ternium (‘Fundamentals of Supervisor’s Role’ programme).

Nominees for the journalist of the year award are Vera Blei (Metal Bulletin), Henry Cooke (Platts), David Fickling (Bloomberg), Yang Kai (China Metallurgical News), and Michael Pooler (Financial Times).

The seventh category, industry communicator of the year, awards individuals who the media has chosen as having done the most in this year publicly to present the best face of the steel industry to the world at large. Nominated are Wolfgang Eder (Chairman & CEO, voestalpine AG), Ohjoon Kwon (CEO, POSCO), Naveen Jindal (Chairman, Jindal Steel and Power Limited JSPL), Zhenjiang Liu (Secretary General, China Iron & Steel Association CISA), and Alexander Mohr (Secretary General APEAL).

Subscribe to the newsletter now

Don't Miss out on Our Best Content

By clicking on „Subscribe to Newsletter“ I agree to the processing and use of my data according to the consent form (please expand for details) and accept the Terms of Use. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.

Unfold for details of your consent